Expanding Cup Holder

When asked to think about the concept of a Kickstarter campaign and a product that might make sense to (conceptually) launch that way the answer came quickly. All I had to do was think about was the pain in a morning commute from swim practice to school unaccompanied by a hot or cold beverage, all because my cupholders were too small to fit even small bottles. My very American problem was further compounded by the fact that the simple but bulky cupholder inserts that typically solved this type problem would prevent my cup holders from being closed, restricting the usability of my vehicle and leading to a compromised and messy solution to my problem. The solution was simple in premise, but I later realized was difficult to execute. The device I eventually developed conceptually fits inside the horizontal and vertical footprint of my factory installed cup holders meaning it does not restrict usability, but at significantly greater complexity.

IMG_1516.jpg

I am excited about this product because I hope it will solve an issue that I and thousands of others face every day on their morning commute and throughout their day. On my morning drive from swim team to school, my cupholders are unable to accommodate a Gatorade bottle, much less a YETI, so I look forward to enjoying beverages in the car with this device.

I excelled at craftsmanship because I had a well put together promotional video and clear funding tiers that make sense from a business standpoint but also to the consumer. I think my Fabrication was the best part of my project because of the highly detailed 3D renderings I created of the product. I think my Idea exchange was good because the product solves a real problem and has no direct competition. My Observation and Judgement was really good because I went through several iterations of my design to arrive on the final product that revolved around observations of products that solved a different problem but functioned in a similar manner.

Screen Shot 2017-12-14 at 1.52.48 PM.png

Joshua Schwartz Build Permit Cupholder

Leave a comment