What a Semester!

It has been quite the semester for our latest design brief. After the completion of the first brief last year, I felt I had a basic understanding of how such a project would flow, but the second project has proven that a consistent flow between projects is not to be expected. However, I don’t think that’s a bad thing, each project we embark on is different from the piece of paper it starts on to the solution. In hindsight, it makes sense that this project is a radical departure from the last, It also makes sense that I have learned and changed in radically different ways. I wrote last year that the experience had allowed me to dramatically improve my more “technical” skills, everything from building a digital 3D rendering to crafting a professional presentation for a client. This time around, I picked up an entirely different set of skills due to the lightning fast and shifting nature of the project, which forced me to change how I operated inside a project environment, just to keep up. The time required to put together a formal presentation was slashed from one week to a few hours because of changing circumstances. The flexibility I had to adopt taught me to think through second and third options that could be implemented at the last possible second for every single decision made. Because this project has, and continues to hold so many surprises, we must continue to play at the top of our game; this project has remade us into an undeterred yet flexible team that has probably heard “Do whatever it takes.” a few too many times.

Leave a comment